Mariko Anraku

Mariko Anraku, associate principal harp, Met Orchestra

“…a manifestation of grace and elegance.” – The Jerusalem Post

“…a masterful artist of intelligence and wit” – The New York Times

Emmanuel Ceysson

Emmanuel Ceysson, principal harp, Met Orchestra

“Ceysson is a rising star of the harp world…Both his technique and his musicianship are virtually flawless…It was an impressive and deeply involving evening.” – The Washington Post

“Mr. Ceysson is one of those rare beings who has a pure and direct connection to the music and is able to transmit it to his audience with consummate skill and grace.” – The New York Concert Review

Leading members of the Met Orchestra

David Chan, concertmaster

Catherine Ro
Catherine Ro, violin

Rafael Figueroa
Rafael Figueroa, co-principal cello

Jerry Grossman
Jerry Grossman, co-principal cello

Érik Gratton, principal flute

Inn-hyuck Cho, principal clarinet


Melinda Wagner and Gilad Cohen are award-winning, Ridgewood-based composers.

Melinda Wagner, composer

Melinda Wagner is a Pulitzer Prize winning composer. Her Trombone Concerto was recently premiered by the NY Philharmonic, and she is currently working on a piece for the Chicago Symphony.

“Melinda Wagner’s “Pan Journal” is a work by a top professional who knows how to keep the ears and brains of her listeners engaged.” – Vance R. Koven, Boston Music Intelligencer

Gilad Cohen, composer

Gilad Cohen, a professor at Ramapo College, is a Princeton Ph.D. and the winner of the 2010 Israeli Prime Minister Award for Composers and the 2016 Barlow Endowment.

“In Cohen’s “Trio for a Spry Clarinet, Weeping Cello, and Ruminating Harp,” the acoustic instruments are exceptionally orchestrated in a varied rhythmic and melodic richness. The use of traditional way of playing is combined with unusual sonorities in both combinations within the ensemble and individual instruments.” – Israeli Prime Minister Award committee, 2010


Claude Debussy Danses sacree et profane, L. 103 for harp and strings Program Notes
Maurice Ravel Ma mere l’oye arranged for two harps Program Notes
Gilad Cohen Trio for a Spry Clarinet, Weeping Cello and Ruminating Harp Program Notes
Melinda Wagner Pan Journal for harp and string quartet Program Notes
Claude Debussy Suite Bergamasque, L. 75 arranged for two harps by Matthieu Martin Program Notes
Maurice Ravel Introduction and Allegro for harp, flute, clarinet, and string quartet Program Notes

On December 18, The Met Orchestra’s exquisite harpists, Mariko Anraku and Emmanuel Ceysson, will join forces with seven principal players of the Met Orchestra for a celestial afternoon of music making. Their alluring program will include duos and ensemble works featuring the harp by Debussy and Ravel and engaging new music by the award-winning, Ridgewood-based composers Melinda Wagner and Gilad Cohen.

Meet Met Harpists Emmanuel Ceysson and Mariko Anraku:

Emmanuel Ceysson performs Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro:

Mariko Anraku performs Fauré’s Impromptu, Op. 86: