Jonathan BissJonathan Biss, piano

“…unerring sophistication…close to perfection.” – Alex Ross, The New Yorker

Principal strings of the NY Philharmonic

Frank Huang
Frank Huang, concertmaster

Sheryl Staples
Sheryl Staples, principal associate concertmaster

Cynthia Phelps
Cynthia Phelps, principal viola

Carter Brey
Carter Brey, principal cello


Antonin Dvořàk Quartet No. 12 in F, Op. 96 (American) Program Notes
George Gershwin Lullaby for string quartet Program Notes
Sir Edward Elgar Quintet in A minor, Op. 84 for piano and strings Program Notes

On November 20, the internationally celebrated pianist Jonathan Biss will partner with the incomparable principal string players of the New York Philharmonic: concertmaster Frank Huang, principal associate concertmaster Sheryl Staples, principal violist Cynthia Phelps, and principal cellist Carter Brey. Their “English-speaking” program will include Dvořák‘s luminous American Quartet, Gershwin’s charming Lullaby, and Elgar’s lushly romantic quintet for piano and strings.

Jonathan Biss performs Schumann’s Fantasiestücke, Op. 12:

Meet Frank Huang, the New York Philharmonic’s new concertmaster: