Alessio Bax
Benjamin Luxon, narrator

“His interpretive power is unquestioned.” — The New York Times

Benjamin Beilman
Benjamin Beilman, violin

“Poised and monstrously talented” — Philadelphia Inquirer

Andrew Tyson
Andrew Tyson, piano

“A real poet of the piano.” — BBC Radio 3

Chris Coletti
Chris Coletti, trumpet

Principal Trumpet
Canadian Brass

Demian Austin
Demian Austin, trombone

Principal Trombone
Met Orchestra

Inn-Hyuck Cho
Inn-Hyuck Cho, clarinet

Principal Clarinet
Met Orchestra

Frank Morelli
Frank Morelli, bassoon

Principal Bassoon

David J. Grossman
David J. Grossman, bass

Principal Bass
LA Chamber Orchestra

Ian Rosenbaum
Ian Rosenbaum, percussion

Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society

Anni Crofut
Anni Crofut, dancer-choreographer


This special event will feature music from three of Stravinsky’s iconic theater works. The dazzling Piano Suite from Petrushka was inspired by the music from his groundbreaking 1911 ballet, and the neoclassic Suite Italienne for violin and piano was adapted from Stravinsky’s charming and witty score for his 1923 ballet Pulcinella. The afternoon will culminate with a fully narrated, choreographed performance of Stravinsky’s seminal 1918 theater work, The Soldier’s Tale, the Faustian tale of a young soldier who makes a deal with the Devil.

Igor Stravinsky Three Movements from Petrushka
Andrew Tyson, piano
Program Notes
Igor Stravinsky Suite Italienne
Benjamin Beilman, violin; Andrew Tyson, piano
Program Notes
Igor Stravinsky The Soldier’s Tale
Benjamin Luxon, narrator; Anni Crofut, dancer; Instrumental Septet
Program Notes

Watch Anni Crofut dance the Tango, Waltz, and Ragtime from Stravinsky’s “The Soldier’s Tale”: