top of page


Kristin Lee, violin; Paul Watkins, cello; Gilles Vonsattel, piano

Winner of 2008 Avery Fisher Career Grant

“Mr. Vonsattel used his razor-sharp technique to make the older works sound as adventurous as the more recent ones.” – The New York Times

“Britain’s finest cellist, Watkins’ account [of the Elgar concerto] seems the best to have appeared on disc for years. It has intensity, presence and warmth.” — The Guardian

“Kristin Lee gave a sterling performance…the performance was beautifully integrated and seamless.” — Oberon’s Grove



In an afternoon of Beethoven’s most beloved chamber works, violinist Kristen Lee and pianist Gilles Vonsattel (both winners of the coveted Avery Fisher Career Grant) will join forces with Paul Watkins, the Emerson String Quartet’s acclaimed cellist.

Korean-American violinist Kristin Lee is an artist of remarkable musicality and impeccable technique. She enjoys a vibrant career as a soloist, recitalist, and chamber musician and is equally noted for her growing reputation in collaborations with various genres of music.

Paul Watkins joined the famed Emerson String Quartet in May 2013 and enjoys a distinguished career both as cellist and conductor. In 2009 he became the first-ever Music Director of the English Chamber Orchestra.

The Swiss-born American pianist Gilles Vonsattel has been called “a wanderer between worlds.” Comfortable with an enormous range of repertoire, Vonsattel displays a musical curiosity and sense of adventure that has gained him admirers the world over.


Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata No. 4 in C, Op. 102, for cello & piano

Ludwig van Beethoven

Sonata No. 9 in A, Op. 47 (Kreutzer) for violin & piano

Ludwig van Beethoven

Trio in D, Op. 70, No. 1 (Ghost) for violin, cello, & piano

Beethoven’s 9th violin sonata: The Kreutzer or the Bridgetower?

Kristin Lee and Michael Mizrah - Beethoven Sonata No. 9 (Kreutzer), last movement (Phillips Gallery, Washington DC)

Paul Watkins - Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society Profile

Gilles Vonsattel and Arnaud Sussmann - Mozart Violin Sonata in E minor, Mvt 2 (Parlance Chamber Concerts)

Gilles Vonsattel - Brahms Piano Quintet in F minor, Mvt. 3 (Parlance Chamber Concerts)


bottom of page